My First Impressions of the Tamron 15-30mm f/2.8 VC Lens

I have heard may great things about this lens and wanted to give it a try. I signed up for the Tamron loaner program and put this at the top of my list. I wanted to see just how fast it would focus on my Canon camera bodies. I wanted to see if the Vibration Compensation (VC) would help in the handheld, low-light situations that I frequently find myself in. As  most of you know, I shoot many concerts and also love night photography. This lens is made for a Full-Frame camera (and can also be used on a crop body )! Talk about ultra-wide zooms! I will say that the lens is bigger than I expected and feels solid as it should, considering it has 18 glass elements in 13 groups and the front element is coated in Flourine for extra protection. For what I do, I need a lens that is sharp from corner to corner with little distortion and fast focusing ability in extremely low lighting conditions. I put the lens to the test capturing a friend’s band “Desire.” They are out of California and are a top-notch U2 Tribute band. As you can see, in low light and in back-lit situations, the lens is sharp! The lens focused fast and the VC feature was on for all of the images in this gallery. I was shooting in manual mode at f/2.8 and changing shutter speed and ISO based on the fast-changing lighting conditions of the show. I believe the photos will back up my words on this lens. This piece of glass is well worth it’s price tag and I highly recommend it!

#WithMyTamron #Tamron #SP1530VC #TamronUSA #TamronRocksVegas

Leave a Reply

