When things change…

In the last couple of weeks, my photography world has changed quite a bit. I have been using a new camera (to me): the Sony a7ii, with a mission to self-learn it’s functionality while traveling on the road and using it as my Primary camera system (actually not even taking my full lineup of Canon gear out of the camera bag). During this road trip I covered 3062 miles from Las Vegas to San Diego and then all along the California coast to about one hour North of Fort Bragg. Many of these locations I have never been to and had one time slot to get an image that I would be happy with. This was a very interesting self-imposed challenge. I ended up shooting over 4000 images (I think this count includes bracketed shots) along the way and learned through trial and error some of the distinct differences between the Sony and Canon brands, and also the way a mirrorless full-frame camera works compared to a traditional DSLR full-frame camera. I will be posting a few blogs about this mental and physical journey here in the near future, so stay tuned! 🙂

Flower Fields - Carlsbad, California

Flower Fields – Carlsbad, California

Also, when I returned to Las Vegas, I finally caved and bought into the Adobe Creative Cloud (CC) for Photographers. I did this because I am an active user of Lightroom and the newest version, Lightroom 6 – now called Lightroom CC, was just released. The price for the standalone upgrade would have been $79, but for $20 more I got an entire year of the Creative Cloud which includes the newest versions of both Photoshop and Lightroom. The normal price for this service is $9.99 a month, but B&H photo offered it for $99 total if prepaid for the entire year. I installed the 30-day demo version for now while awaiting the activation code that B&H shipped to me for free (not sure why this was not an email transaction). Including the trial, I think I will get 13 months for the price of 10 when all is said and done. The reason I mention this on this posting is this is also a major change. I think the new features in Lightroom CC will be an easy transition for me, but I just upgraded from Photoshop CS5 to the 2015 CC version and it looks completely different! Anyway… time to get into these new applications and see what I can figure out! 🙂

Lightroom CC Splash Screen

Lightroom CC Splash Screen

One thought on “When things change…

Leave a Reply

