Getting back to my roots (both personally and as a photographer)

Recently, I flew back home to Pennsylvania to visit family and capture the fall foliage. The area I grew up in bases around a small town in the Northeastern part of the state. While in the area, I always love revisiting places that provoke memories of my youth and spending time with my family and friends. It is great getting back those feelings and memories from a time that seems forever ago.

I also was on a mission to get some images of some of my favorite locations from the area during the peak of the fall foliage. This year I timed it perfectly as the colors were spectacular and the weather was perfect for shooting (usually overcast with very little wind and an occasional mist or rain to keep the colors vibrant). Also on this trip, I had the opportunity to play tour guide to one of my friends, a fellow photographer from Las Vegas. Showing someone new around opened my eyes to a different way of seeing some locations that I have shot again and again in the past.

It also had me want to get to my core basics in photography, where it all started for me. I have been shooting as long as I can remember and learned as a young shutterbug through trial and error how to make adjustments manually – back in the film days before the instant feedback, looking at the back of the camera. I made the commitment to shoot all images this trip in the M-mode on my camera. Adjusting ISO, aperture, and shutter speed for every image while focusing manually. For those that know me, I am usually an AV-shooter, letting the camera choose my shutter speed based on my selection of the aperture because I find this method works with concerts and low light.

Tooling around the backwoods of PA, hiking through Ricketts Glen, spending a day in New York City, and capturing a few portraits manually for three weeks, all while rarely looking at my camera back, brought back some of my first memories with photography. Now on a flight back to Las Vegas looking at the images I have captured, I am more than pleased with my results and cannot wait to share. I have been posting teaser images captured with my phone during my trip, but they definitely pale in comparison to what my cameras and I have created… all while getting back to my roots.

GB.

image

Ricketts Glen State Park, PA

Posted from my Samsung Galaxy S5 using WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

